WATCH: Laois LGFA football championship launched in O’Moore Park

first_img Twitter GAA Kelly and Farrell lead the way as St Joseph’s claim 2020 U-15 glory Here are all of Wednesday’s Laois GAA results RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Pinterest By Siun Lennon – 26th April 2019 2020 U-15 ‘B’ glory for Ballyroan-Abbey following six point win over Killeshin GAA TAGSLaois Ladies Gaelic FootballLaois Ladies IFCLaois Ladies JFCLaois Ladies Senior football ChampionshipLaois Ladies SFCLaois LGFA Facebook Twitter Facebook WhatsApp Pinterest Previous articleOpening round of Laois intermediate club camogie championship postponedNext articleIn Pictures: Full house in the Killeshin Hotel as big names turn out for The Harps GAA breakfast Siun Lennonún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics. WhatsApp These will be rolled out over the course of the coming weeks.Below we have previews of each of the grades and the teams contesting them.Laois LGFA Senior championshipThe Laois LGFA senior championship is the last to kick off this year, beginning on Sunday May 19. WATCH: Laois LGFA football championship launched in O’Moore Park Six teams are vying for the title of the best in Laois this year; current county championships Sarsfields, last year’s promoted side Shanahoe, Portlaoise, St Brigid’s, St Conleth’s and Timahoe.Sarsfields secured an astounding sixth county championship title in a row last year and will be marked as the team to knock off the perch.The Mountmellick-based club saw a high-profile retirement last year in four time All-Star Tracey Lawlor announcing that she was hanging up her boots but it is hoped that Laura-Marie Maher might return from her cruciate injury and lay down her impressive mark once again.Last year’s fellow finalists Portlaoise lost out to Sarsfields for the third year in a row and although there was plenty of hurt after the meeting in September, but have plenty of youth and county champions from underage now coming up along the ranks.Last year’s intermediate winners Shanahoe ended 12 years of hurt by conquering the intermediate grade, after losing two finals in the past two years.Eimear Barry, Laura Finlay, Marion O’Grady, Nicola Ryan and Noirin Kirwan all stood out on the day as they celebrated their seven point victory.Timahoe have lost out in hard semi-final draws to Sarsfields the past two years, but initially looked to run the eventual county champions close, with just two points between the sides at half-time.Maureen Young, Mo Nerney, Sarah Quigley and young midfielder Sarah Larkin and Alice Dunne are all expected to play a key part in the Timahoe side this year.The other semi-final saw Portlaoise beat off St Conleth’s for a final place. Aimee Kelly, Áine Haberlin, Alannah Havill, Eva Galvin and Mary Cotter all have intercounty experience for this relatively young side.St Brigid’s make the sixth team to compete at the top grade. In 2017 they blew the championship wide open by defeating Timahoe.St Brigid’s and St Conleth’s clashed in Barrowhouse in last year’s quarter-final where they produced a nine goal thriller, with St Conleth’s emerging victorious.St Brigid’s led by four points early on but St Conleth’s came back and won by 6-14 to 3-13 in the end.Will there be an upset for the champions Sarsfields or will they go for a historic seven in a row?Group A: St Conleth’s, Sarsfields and St Brigid’sRound 1: Sunday May 19St Brigid’s v SarsfieldsSt Conleth’s byeRound 2: Sunday 23 or Sunday 30 JuneSarsfields v St Conelth’sSt Brigid’s byeRound 3: Sunday August 11St Conleth’s v St Brigid’sGroup B: Shanahoe, Portlaoise and TimahoeRound 1: Sunday May 19Portlaoise v TimahoeShanahoe byeRound 2: Sunday 23 or Sunday 30 JunePortlaoise v ShanahoeTimahoe byeRound 3: Sunday August 11Shanahoe v TimahoePortlaoise byeSemi-final: Sunday August 25Final: Sunday September 8Laois LGFA Intermediate championshipThis year’s intermediate championship contains five teams  – Park-Ratheniska, Graiguecullen, Ballyroan, St Joseph’s and St Paul’s battling for the county championship title and a shot in the ranks of senior football.It contains one more team than last year – with Park-Ratheniska having gone down to the grade from last year.Graiguecullen were last year’s beaten finalists – having gone unbeaten in their campaign until that final day.Ballyroan and St Joseph’s are two teams which have remained the intermediate championship from last year.In the 2018 semi-finals, second place Shanahoe defeated third place Ballyroan, while Graiguecullen defeated St Joseph’s on a scoreline of 1-15 to 0-7.Joining the intermediate championship this year are junior championship winners St Paul’s, who capped off an undefeated campaign with last year’s final win over Ballyfin.Could St Paul’s carry this momentum through to winning an intermediate county final through the likes of Emma Lawlor, Shannon Costello and Emma Murphy?Or will Park-Ratheniska, who have the highly skilled Erone Fitzpatrick, Anna Healy and Fiona Kelly have something to say about wanting to be back up at the top level.Graiguecullen might also want to make up for last year’s final while Ballyroan and St Joseph’s won’t be easily defeated.Round 1: Monday April 29St Joseph’s v Park-RatheniskaGraiguecullen v St Paul’sBallyroan byeRound 2: Sunday May 19St Paul’s v St Joseph’sPark-Ratheniska v BallyroanGraiguecullen byeRound 3: Sunday June 23 or Sunday June 30St Joseph’s v GraiguecullenBallyroan v St Paul’sPark-Ratheniska byeRound 4: Sunday August 11St Paul’s v Park-RatheniskaGraiguecullen v BallyroanSt Joseph’s byeRound 5: Sunday August 18Ballyroan v St Joseph’sPark-Ratheniska v GraiguecullenSt Paul’s byeSemi-final: Saturday 24 or Sunday 25 AugustFinal: Saturday 7 or Sunday 8 SeptemberLaois LGFA Junior championship Five team contest this year’s junior championship – Ballyfin, Killeshin, The Heath, Sarsfields and Clonaslee St Manman’s.Ballyfin competed in last year’s final and the final in 2017 – and the relatively new side will be hoping to finally etch their name below the trophy this year.Sarsfields and two year old side Clonaslee St Manman’s reached the semi-finals last year – with St Paul’s defeating Sarsfields 3-14 to 2-7, while Ballyfin put in a 5-6 to 2-14 victory over Clonaslee/St Manman’s.Round 1: Monday April 29The Heath v Clonaslee St Manman’sBallyfin v KilleshinSarsfields byeRound 2: Saturday 18 or Sunday 19 MayKilleshin v The HeathClonaslee St Manman’s v SarsfieldsBallyfin byeRound 3: Sunday June 23 or Sunday June 30The Heath v BallyfinSarsfields v KilleshinClonaslee St Manman’s byeRound 4: Saturday 10 or Sunday 11 AugustKilleshin v Clonaslee St Manman’sBallyfin v SarsfieldsThe Heath byeRound 5: Sunday August 18Sarsfields v The HeathClonaslee St Manman’s v BallyfinKilleshin byeSemi-final: Saturday 24 or Sunday 25 AugustFinal: Saturday 7 or Sunday 8 SeptemberSEE ALSO – Laois teenager off to Israel for international tournament with Republic of Ireland Home Sport GAA WATCH: Laois LGFA football championship launched in O’Moore Park SportGAALadies Football GAA On Thursday April 25, the Laois LGFA football championships were launched in O’Moore Park.Sixteen teams are now competing across three different divisions in senior, intermediate and junior championships.The junior and intermediate championships begin on Monday April 29, while the senior championship starts up on Sunday May 19.LaoisToday went along to the official launch night, where Paul Dargan took some images at the evening.Ahead of the championship, we have completed one-minute ‘quick-fire’ questions with a player from each of the 16 sides involved.last_img read more